One of the situations that I often find myself in that casues me trouble is writing. You see, when there is a writing assignment, I can really enjoy myself and let go, just write about whatever is the topic and elaborate thoroughly, the trobule comes now that these asssignments are way more strict. Nowadays we have to include “fancy” words and correct grammar, and also, sentences also have to be a separate thought each, not the way I was accustomed to. I know that this is probably a senseless complaint, since it´s only logical that when you´re required to write something you should abide by the rules (see what I did there? “abide” now that´s a phony word) but since I come from a school that wasn´t specialized in English, sentences were never my main concern, neither were paragraphs. This doesn´t make much sense though, because the school had terrific gramar in Spanish, so I should know all the rules, I suppose that  I´m just really lazy, well, I mean, not alwayas, like I do write a lot, and I mean A LOT, but I won´t try to take the guilt away, I´m lazy.

I´ll tell you something, there was this dude, that studied at Pencey, god that was a stupid school, which was called Holden Cauli… Calui… Calisomething, let me tell you, he was a douchebag. He always complained about everything, calling people “phonies” or “goddamn morons” or something like that. But I knew him, it was lkie I could get inside his mind, but I knew him better than everyone else, even than his family. He always used to pretend that he didn´t give a damn about anything, like the world was below him. But I knew, and I am sure, that he cared about everything more than everyone else. Let me give you an example; when his little brother Allie died, he slept in the garage and broke all the windows, screwing up his fist, but, you see, I get him, Allie was such a nice kid, like, he was really smart, like, disgusting smart, it even kind of bothered you, but not because he was an ass about it or anything, but because you felt really stupid beside him. Like this time, we were playing baseball in the field, and since there was no one at the bat, the dude takes out his glove and starts reading from it! WHAT THE HELL, like, who the F*** reads while playing? And after I managed to look at the glove, IT WAS POETRY, freaking poetry, now thats a level of intelligence I can´t even understand. But i´m getting out of topic.

The thing was that that night Holden got incredibly depressed, and to this day, he still is, but he tells the story as if his freaking Xbox died or something, hell, I would cry more if my ps4 died. But that was him, he pretended that he didn´t care at all, that “that´s just life” but I knew, of my god, I knew that he was dying from the inside, I knew that that was the reason he started smoking, and started losing his assignments in all classes, he was a freaking ball of sadness, but in order to divert us from it, he acted like this cool “i dont give a damn” guys. Anyways, that was Holden, calling everyone a “phony” and a “goddamn moron” while he was the phoniest, dumbest and most arrogant guy I´ve ever met.

I hope I could tell you more about him, but I´m not in the mood, and you really have to be in the mood to tell that kind of stuff. Now I have to go back to this class, math, goddamn stupid class. (Or maybe its me?)

Leave a comment