Last year I went to Las Vegas with my family. It was a great trip, but after we came back several things happened. Due to an airline mistake we flew back to El Salvador, and there, my father decided to take a bus ride home. When we got in a taxi I asked the driver if he could take us home, and it turned out that he could, and it was a fairly cheap price, so we decided to go with him. Just as we were arriving to my father´s house, a pick-up truck stopped in front of us and some guys got out and entered our minivan, they blindfolded us and took us to some random dumpster, where they took our suitcases, cellphones and watches. We stayed there for about three hours, under the freezing cold, without shoes, our hands ties and heads down. The specific problem in that situation were my emotions towards the whole situation, you see, I could´ve reacted quite differently and started crying, or trying to run away, or fight back, but instead I managed to control my emotions and even fall asleep during the whole process. After we got back home, I talked my mother about it, she started crying, but, since I behaved calmly, she felt better. For the first few months, I still had a lot of anger and pain towards the thieves, and got super stressed whenever I thought about it. But now, 7 months later, I have practically forgot about it, and even make jokes about the whole thing, I feel a lot better and in peace. That is my difficult time tale, and how I coped with it. 

Leave a comment